Skip to main content


A baseball game in a stadium with a dramatic cloudy sky overhead.

The Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District (the District) is a corporate body and political subdivision of the State of Colorado established pursuant to the Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District Act, Article 14, Title 32 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, as amended (the Act). The District currently includes all or part of the seven counties in the Denver metropolitan area.  The District was created for the purpose of acquiring, constructing and operating a major league baseball stadium.  The Act authorized the District to levy and collect sales/use tax as of August 1, 1991 of one-tenth of one percent throughout the District to assist in financing the acquisition and construction of the Ballpark.  On January 1, 2001 the District discontinued the levy of the sales tax upon the final defeasance of all of its outstanding debt.  On July 5, 1991, Denver, Colorado was awarded a major league baseball club franchise by the National  League of Professional Clubs.